The 5 Stages of Grief (Explained) + How to Navigate the Grieving Process

By December 20, 2018 February 16th, 2019 Blog

Today, I want to share the five stages of grief with you. And I want you to know that there is no right or wrong way to grieve.

The 5 Stages of Grief #1
The first stage is denial. Denial of the truth of what happened. This is a temporary way for us to cope with a situation. And it does serve us well going through this stage.

The 5 Stages of Grief #2
The second stage is anger. We’re angry about what happened. We are angry at our loved one that has left us all alone. We’re experiencing a lot of anger within ourselves.

The 5 Stages of Grief #3
Next, we move into the third stage, which is bargaining. We try to bargain with the higher power, God, the Universe, and try to believe that they have the power to change a situation.

The 5 Stages of Grief #4
When that doesn’t work, then we move into depression, which is the fourth stage. And we feel depressed. We feel awful.

The 5 Stages of Grief #5
Then, we move into the fifth stage, which is acceptance. And you might not be okay, but you accept the situation for what it is, and you know your loved one is no longer going to be in your life physically, right?

The truth about the five stages is that they’re wonderful. And yes, we do move through them. But we can move through them differently. So you might experience anger at first, or then you might experience acceptance, then go from acceptance to denial. And then, really, we can go through them differently. And this is what I experienced through my grieving process, so I’m sharing this with you.

Know that whatever you’re experiencing, if you think you’re doing it all wrong, you’re not. You are doing it perfectly. It’s just the way that you’re experiencing your grief and coping with it. Also, I wanted to share with you ways that have helped me through my grieving process, really the stages that I went through. So, of course, I went through the five stages, but I did them differently than the actual order of the five.

Through my entire life, I have gone through loss. I lost my entire family to cancer. On January 9th of 2012, I watched my mother take her very last breath in front of my eyes. I watched her leave her body. And I feel like that was a gift to me, that I got to witness my mother’s passing.

Then, when I just turned 28, I removed both of my breasts to a double mastectomy because I had a very high percentage of getting breast cancer. And so, as a woman, removing your breasts, having a double mastectomy, that is a whole other grieving process.

Just recently, I removed my chances of having children. That was a whole other grieving process for me. So I want you to know that I know what pain is. And it hurts. But I knew that I needed to move right through it to find the best version of myself on the other side.

I want you to know that you can do that, too. It is possible for you. Everything that you need within you is there. I know pain, and I’m proud of myself for moving through it. And if you embrace the pain, you will do this, too. You can do this, too. It is possible for you to move through this pain that you’re experiencing. Something else I would like to share with you is don’t compare your grief to others.

Have faith and have hope. You’ve got this. And it’s going to be okay. I know you’ve lost somebody really special in your life, and it’s challenging right now, but have faith. You’re going to be okay. I want you to know that you’re the author of your story. You are the creator of your destiny. There is no better time than now to move through your grieving process. Don’t be afraid.

The world is going to see the person that you truly are, which is kind, compassionate, caring, beautiful, loving, and everything’s going to be okay. Remember, again, you’re exactly where you’re supposed to be. If you have any comments or questions, I’m here to support you. Please post in the comments below.